Welcome to the Ministry of Provincial Government and Institutional Strengthening

The Ministry of Provincial Government and Institutional Strengthening ("the Ministry") is the only Ministry whose sole responsibility is Provincial Government.  There are nine Provincial Governments in the Solomon Islands, established under the Provincial Government Act 1997, which the Ministry is responsible for administering this Act to ensure effective, efficient, and accountable Provincial Governments in the Solomon Islands.

Hon. David Tome is the Minister of the Ministry of Provincial Government and Institutional Strengthening, with day-to-day operations run by the Permanent Secretary, Mr. Stanley D. Pirione.

News From the Ministry

Highlights of the 6th Premiers Conference

Read more...The 6th Premiers Conference ended in colourful style in Kira Kira on 26th October 2012 after one week of intensive discussions of high level policy issues affecting service delivery by the nine Provincial Premiers and the Mayor of the Honiara City Council.

First Provincial Assembly Building

Read more...Accepting the key to the first ever provincial assembly building of the provincial government for Makira Ulawa Province for 34 years was indeed a momentous occasion.



PGSP is a program of the Government of the SIG that is aimed at developing the capacity of PGs to deliver services and promote local development.

MPAs inducted to their new responsibilities


All participating national agencies and UNDP programs worked hand in hand in a good example of cross-agency collaboration to deliver a comprehensive package of capacity development services to PGs.

  • Latest News from the Provinces

  • Ministry News

You are here: Home
Ministry of Provincial Government

Our Vision: A strong, effective and efficient provincial government system which meets the needs of rural communities.


Central Islands




Makira / Ulawa

Rennell / Bellona